Metal Maniac

Midnight – No Mercy for Mayhem



And back to the United States (no, I don’t live there, it’s just a figure of speech, I haven’t reviewed too many bands from the US lately…), by the way, can you guess where I live? Or in which countries I live, as it’s more than one? Well, today I am talking about Midnight’s latest full-length album, “No Mercy for Mayhem”. A bit more about the band: Hotter than Hell in the metal/punk underworld, Midnight’s debut album, Satanic Royalty, became an instant classic upon its release in 2011. Now, with anticipation at a fever pitch, the hooded demons return with the even better No Mercy for Mayhem. Whereas Satanic Royalty was the culmination of nearly a decade’s worth of hard slogging in the underground, No Mercy for Mayhem is an intensification of everything its predecessor seemingly perfected: the hooks even more anthemic, the power more piledriving, the dirt dirtier, the sum effect being absolute Blackout.





My dear friends, what a thrilling, exciting, awesome album! It feels simply great, you have this urge to headbang, mosh, destroy what you see in front of you and that feels amazing! For me this is actually an uplifting album, uplifting in the sense that gives me the energy, the boost to face the days. It’s just incredible. “No Mercy for Mayhem” is filthy, evil, but also catchy and loud. This is a sleazy, vicious album that will blow your mind. I have no more words to praise it, it’s just fucking incredible!




As for the music itself, I believe I heard some influences (again, influences, not cloning other musicians’ works) of bands such as Motörhead, Alice Cooper, G.G. Allin. I’d say that the music could be described as a punk/ speed/ heavy black metal, as there are several genres blended in Midnight’s creative music. Hell, I’m listening to the album while I’m typing this article and I just had to stop for a minute and enjoy Whiplash Disaster, a fantastic composition. All of them are, in my humble opinion, but this one caught my attention more. I could talk about the guitars, vocals, but hey, I guess I’ve praised this album so much it would be a waste of time not to ask you to check it right now! Eargasms garanteed.




“No Mercy for Mayhem” production is also a fine work, all well-balanced and recorded; one more positive aspect of this album. So, my cherished readers (and I mean it), one more time I invite you all, if you haven’t already, to check out Midnight’s works, especially “No Mercy for Mayhem” and, if you are please with what you hear, please, support the band the way you are able to. As I always say, can’t buy the album now? Well, there are several ways to help a band, spreading the word about them is one of the most effective.




Have a good day.


Grade: 10/10


Band: Midnight


Album: No Mercy for Mayhem (2014)


Label: Hells Headbangers Records




Disc 1

1. The Mercy Curse

2. Evil Like a Knife

3. Prowling Leather

4. No Mercy for Mayhem

5. The Final Rape of Night

6. Degradation

7. Woman of Flame

8. Try Suicide

9. Whiplash Disaster

10. Aggressive Crucifixion

11. Destroy Tsunami’s Power


Disc 2

1. Unholy and Rotten (live)

2. Black Rock’n’Roll (live)

3. Satanic Royalty (live)

4. All Hail Hell (live)

5. Violence on Violence (live)

6. I Am Violator (live)

7. Holocaustic Deafening (live)

8. Endless Slut (live)

9. …on the Wings of Satan (live)


Midnight is:


Athenar – Vocals, Guitars, Bass

SS – Drums

Commandor Vanik – Guitars


Official Fan Facebook:


Official Website:


All photos belong to their rightful owners.

January 14, 2015


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Leave the field below empty!

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.